健康決定因素

美籍亞裔族群的社經地位、英語能力、健康需求和文化識別出現極為多樣化的情況。這些特色加上對病因的知識和信仰、治療模式和預防觀念等因素,常會延誤美籍亞裔人士向外尋求或取得高品質的醫療照護。

因此,研究顯示在美籍亞裔人士族群中有許多障礙,使得他們無法接受高品質醫療照護。最近一項Kaiser Commission 對接受Medicare醫療補助計畫和未保險的民眾進行的調查發現,與非西班牙裔白人相較,美籍亞裔人士來自雇主的保險較少,在未受雇主保險的人中,只有9%的人自行購買保險。

綜觀這些問題,美籍亞裔人士通常受到英語能力不足和對美國健保系統的不了解的限制。社區成員可能不了解如何詢問正確的問題,或甚至不知道向誰尋求解答,也或許對如何在新文化背景中解決問題,缺乏清楚的認知。

社會決定因素

世界衛生組織將健康定義為「身心及社會福祉的健全狀態,而非僅是未患病或未處在虛弱狀態。」由於健康的不平等來自社會內部及族群間的不平等,社經狀態對個人的患病風險,和發生不適時向外尋求治療的能力中扮演很重要的角色。

過去數年間,公衛領域已由特定不平等模型移向評估疾病不平等籓籬的根源。公衛專家目前採用新式的大規模措施,不只將個人因素納入考量,也綜合其他因素,包括社經狀態、家庭和工作環境、交通易達性和教育程度。

結果,政府單位和健康專家強調提出健康的社會決定因素,以及改善社會和物質條件,像是「建築環境」,以達成心智及身體健康。

收入:

  • 最高收入的族群平均生存期望值,較最低收入族群多出6年半。
  • 10名美籍亞裔人士中,有1名在貧困中生活。
  • 美籍華裔人士中,12%生活在貧窮線之下。

教育:

  • 大學畢業生的生存期望值較高中輟學生至少多出五年,較大學肄業者至少多出兩年。
  • 14.6%美籍亞裔人士無高中學歷,以種族區分時數字更高。
  • 19.1%美籍華裔人士無高中學歷。

對醫療照護的取得:

  • 18至64歲美籍亞裔人士次族群中,近五分之一無健保或其他保險。
  • 美籍亞裔人士的次族群間,健康保險程度出現分歧。雇主提供的保險比例,低如韓裔的49%,高如亞裔印度人的77%。

語言及文化決定因素

美籍亞裔人士面對的文化和語言藩籬,通常使他們無法取得醫療照護服務。多數英語能力有限的美籍亞裔人士無法理解美國的醫療照護體系,或和醫療照護提供者溝通。

  • 蒙哥馬利郡裡使用亞洲語言的家庭與其他種族弱勢族群相比,語言隔離的比例最高。
  • 有36%的美籍亞裔人士英語能力未達流利的程度。
  • 四分之三的美籍亞裔族群在家中講英語以外的語言。
  • 據報告指出,與其他種族比較,美籍亞裔人士和西班牙人在有需要時較少接受醫療照護。

一個明顯的問題是許多美籍亞裔人士認為醫師並不了解他們的文化及價值觀。與全國人口相比,他們較不推崇醫師的照護,對照護也較不具信心,而他們對疾病不同的文化價值和傳統信仰會抑止他們尋求照護。由於這些對醫療照護的傳統行為,美籍亞裔人士可能無法感受獲得照護的價值,或是識別目的或必要性。這種行為通常造成診斷出疾病,為時已晚。

Health Determinants

Asian Americans are substantially diverse in terms of socioeconomic status, English proficiency, health needs, and cultural identity. These characteristics, in combination with a variety of other factors—such as knowledge and beliefs regarding causes of disease, modes of treatment, and value of prevention—often delay Asian Americans from seeking out or obtaining quality health care.

Consequently, research indicates considerable barriers to quality health care among Asian Americans. A recent study of the Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured found that Asian Americans are less likely than non-Hispanic whites to receive health insurance from their employers, and of those who do not receive employer-sponsored coverage, only 9% purchase insurance independently.

Compounding the problem, Asian Americans are often burdened by limited-English proficiency and a poor understanding of the intricate American health care system. Members of the community may not know the right questions to ask—or even whom to ask—and may lack a clear understanding of how to assess their problems in their new cultural context.

Social Determinants

The World Health Organization defines health as “a state of complete physical, mental, and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.” As health inequities arise as a result of inequalities within and between societies, social and economic conditions play a critical role in determining a person’s risk of illness and ability to seek out treatment when infirmity occurs. 

In the past several years, the field of public health has moved away from a disparity-specific model to assess “root causes” of disproportionate burdens of illness. Public health experts now embrace a more comprehensive approach that takes into account not only individual factors, but contextual factors as well, including socioeconomic status, home and work environment, access to transportation, and educational attainment.

In response, government agencies and health professionals emphasize addressing the social determinants of health and improving social and physical conditions, such as the “built environment,” to enable healthy minds and healthy bodies.

Income:

  • People in the highest income group can expect to live, on average, at least six and a half years longer than those in the lowest.
  • One-in-ten Asian Americans lives in poverty.

Education:

  • College graduates can expect to live at least five years longer than those who have not finished high school and almost two years longer than those who didn’t finish college.
  • 14.6% of Asian Americans do not have a high school diploma; this number rises substantially when disaggregated by ethnic group, including 27% of Vietnamese and 38% of Cambodians.

Access to Health Care:

  • Nearly one-in-five Asian Americans between the ages of 18-64 reports having no health insurance or being uninsured.
  • There is substantial variation in health coverage among Asian American subgroups. Employer-sponsored coverage ranges from as low as 49% among Koreans to 77% among Asian Indians.

Linguistic and Cultural Determinants

Asian Americans face cultural and linguistic barriers that often discourage or prevent them from accessing available health care services. In most cases, Asian Americans with limited-English proficiency have difficulty understanding the U.S. health care system or communicating with health care providers. 

  • Asian-speaking households in Montgomery County have the highest percentage of linguistic isolation compared to other ethnic minority groups.
  • 36% of Asian Americans report speaking English “less than very well.”
  • Three-quarters of the Asian American population speak a language other than English at home.
  • Asian Americans, along with Hispanics, are less likely than other ethnic groups to report always getting medical care when needed.

A significant problem is that many Asian Americans believe their doctors do not understand their culture or their values. They are less likely to rate their care highly and have confidence in the care provided, when compared to the overall population, while different cultural values and traditional beliefs about disease and treatment prevent individuals from seeking care. Because of these traditional approaches to health care, Asian Americans may not perceive the value or identify the purpose or necessity in obtaining care. This behavior often contributes to the diagnosis of disease in the later stages of development.