社區評估

在多元社會中要達成健康平等,最大的挑戰之一是未運用大型監控系統來分析和收集次族群的特定數據。缺少了這些資料,特殊的亞裔次族群所面臨的顯著不平等數據,便會因人口統計數據而埋沒在未受影響的次族群內。因此,可能無法適當分配資訊,而確保能滿足比例過少的次族群在健康方面的需求。

AAHI的主要行動為確認蒙哥馬利郡美籍亞裔人士在醫療照護方面的需求,以及監控他們的健康狀態。為了完成任務,最基本的就是收集郡內美籍亞裔人士的健康資料。AAHI已透過在2006年及2008年進行兩次社區健康需求評估,加上多項整合資料收集的活動,當成計畫和行動的基礎,以消弼這些鴻溝。AAHI正透過病患引導計畫的內部資料庫、在健康展覽會中收集的資料、外展活動、社區健康篩檢,以及與社區成員和醫療照護提供者進行大規模的訪談,開始整合此多樣化族群複雜且獨特的需求。

B型肝炎試運計畫

2008年9月,疾管中心建議所有在肝癌前驅疾病慢性B型肝炎患病率2%以上區域出生者,應進行B型肝炎篩檢。隔年AAHI便推行一項大膽的嘗試,即B型肝炎試運計畫,可對高患病危險的蒙哥馬利郡美籍亞裔人士族群進行篩檢,也可提供需要的居民教育、預防注射和治療轉介。首次的篩檢活動在2010年1月進行,AAHI並繼續進行教育及外展行動,將重點放在進行中的研究「B型肝炎教育、篩檢、預防注射及治療計畫:對馬里蘭州蒙哥馬利郡內美籍亞裔居民的試運計畫」(Hepatitis B Education, Screening, Vaccination & Treatment Program: A Pilot Project among the Chinese American Community in Montgomery County, MD)。

研究的目標為:

  • 增進美籍亞裔成人對B型肝炎的知識和意識;
  • 使美籍亞裔成人更易獲得B肝篩檢和預防注射;
  • 使社區更加注意B型肝炎相關的議題;
  • 增加收集美籍亞裔人士的B型肝炎資料。

2008年需求評估
美籍亞裔人士健康重點:採取行動的優點、需求及機會
Community Focus Group Reports

2005年需求評估
美籍亞裔人士健康促進協會健康需求評估

Community Assessment

One of the most significant challenges in achieving health parity in a heterogeneous society surrounds the dearth of subgroup-specific data analysis and collection by large-scale surveillance systems. Without this information, significant disparities facing particular Asian subgroups are attenuated by inclusion with non-affected subgroups to arrive at population estimates. As such, resources may not be allocated appropriately to ensure that the health needs of underrepresented communities are addressed.

As a primary endeavor, AAHI works to identify the health care needs and monitor the health status of the various Asian American communities in Montgomery County. Disaggregated health data on Asian Americans in the County is essential to the accomplishment of that mission. AAHI has already begun to address these gaps through the execution of two community health needs assessments—in 2006 and 2008—and various program activities that incorporate data collection as a fundamental aspect of planning and implementation. Through the Patient Navigator Program’s internal database, data collected at health fairs, outreach events, and community health screenings, and extensive interviews with community members and health care providers, AAHI is now beginning to piece together the complexities and unique needs of this diverse population.

Hepatitis B Pilot Project

In September 2008, the Centers for Disease Control recommended that all individuals born in geographic regions with 2 percent or higher prevalence of chronic hepatitis B, a precursor to liver cancer, should be screened for presence of the disease. The following year AAHI introduced its Hepatitis B Pilot Project, a bold initiative that would screen high-risk Asian American residents of Montgomery County, as well as provide education, vaccinations, and treatment referrals to those in need. The initial screening, which took place in January 2010, and AAHI’s continued education and outreach efforts are the focus of an ongoing study entitled Hepatitis B Education, Screening, Vaccination & Treatment Program: A Pilot Project among the Chinese American Community in Montgomery County, MD.

The study aims to:

  • Increase knowledge and awareness about hepatitis B among Asian American adults;
  • Increase access to hepatitis B screening and vaccination for Asian American adults;
  • Engage the community and strengthen capacity to address hepatitis B-related issues;
  • Enhance data collection of hepatitis B among Asian Americans.

2008 Needs Assessment
Asian American Health Priorities: Strengths, Needs, and Opportunities for Action
Community Focus Group Reports

2005 Needs Assessment
Asian American Health Initiative Community Health Needs Assessment