社區服務及健康教育

為確保目標群眾能享有公衛服務,社區外展服務為成功實施計畫的要素,特別在弱勢族群裡,全面性的外展服務策略可確保居民對影響社區的特殊醫療顧慮能有更多的認識,並且對適合各族群文化的計畫以及其他可就地提供的資源有所認識。由於有組織地強調促進健康,AAHI實施適合各文化及語言的計畫,且這些計畫專為增進各族群間的社區外展服務及教育而設計。

自創立AAHI,便將目標放在13個以上的社區,並與諸多當地社區及宗教組織合作,開辦健康衛生展覽、研討會與可喚起對特殊公衛議題意識的社區活動。自2008年起,AAHI平均每年發起35項活動,發展出許多長久且成果豐碩的關係。

AAHI的活動助長傳播重要的健康資訊,並由受過專業訓練、能使用多種語言且具相似文化背景的人員,對社區成員提供技術協助及支援。

由醫師及宗教領袖等受到信賴的社區成員,與低成本醫療服務供應者共同舉辦健康研討會。在研討會接近尾聲時,與會者有機會與醫療專家和健康教育人士討論,深入學習專門的健康議題相關知識,並在適當時機尋求篩檢及治療的機會。

多數AAHI的外展及教育成果均藉由組織的五項特殊情況計畫協助完成,這些計畫的目標與癌症、B型肝炎、糖尿病、骨質疏鬆和煙草使用情況有關。為回應近期發生的事件,會額外對英語能力有限的人士實施H1N1流感病毒的教育。

AAHI也可經由參與衛生展覽以及小型企業拓展活動,對整個郡提供篩檢及轉介的連結服務。定期規律的篩檢對早期發現及成功治療許多慢性疾病具有顯著意義。AAHI利用這些專業指導,在活動中提供迅速免費的骨密度、血壓和糖尿病篩檢,亦能將高危險群社區成員轉介至醫療照護專家,以進行癌症篩檢措施。

為了實地協助進行作業,AAHI製作並散發多種語言且與文化相關的教材,在計畫館藏裡有與美籍亞裔人士社區所顧慮的多種疾病和不適相關的手冊、表格、說明書和海報,均可在本站的相關資源頁面裡下載所有教材。

Community Outreach and Health Education

To ensure that public health services reach their intended audiences, community outreach is a pivotal component of implementing successful programs. Especially among minority populations, a comprehensive outreach strategy assures that residents increase their knowledge regarding specific health concerns impacting their community and are aware of culturally-appropriate programs and other resources available locally. Given its organizational emphasis on health promotion, AAHI has implemented culturally- and linguistically-appropriate programs designed to improve community outreach and education among a diverse cohort.

AAHI has targeted more than 13 communities since it was established, partnering with dozens of local community- and faith-based organizations to coordinate health fairs, seminars, and community activities that raise awareness of specific issues of public health. Since 2008, AAHI has averaged more than 35 events per year, developing many longstanding, fruitful relationships.

AAHI’s activities facilitate the dissemination of important health information and provide technical assistance and support to community members by trained, multilingual individuals with shared cultural background.

Health seminars are conducted by trusted community members, such as doctors and religious leaders, in partnership with low-cost medical care providers. At the conclusion of the seminars, participants are given an opportunity to consult with medical experts and health educators to learn more about the specific health issue and seek out screening and treatment opportunities, when available.

The bulk of AAHI’s outreach and educational efforts are done in support of the organization’s five condition-specific programs, which target health concerns related to cancer, hepatitis B, diabetes, osteoporosis, and tobacco use. In response to recent events, additional efforts have gone toward educating limited-English proficiency individuals about the H1N1 influenza virus.

Through participation in health fairs and small-business outreach, AAHI also provides links to screening and referral services throughout the County. Timely and regular screenings have been shown to have significant impact on early detection and successful treatments for many chronic conditions. Taking these professional guidelines into account, AAHI provides fast and free bone-density, blood pressure, and diabetes screenings at events, as well as referrals to health care professionals for cancer screenings among high-risk community members.

To supplement their work in the field, AAHI develops and disseminates multilingual, culturally-relevant educational materials. The program library consists of pamphlets, brochures, booklets, and posters regarding a variety of diseases and illnesses of concern to the Asian American community. All materials are available for electronic download on the Resources page of this website.