亞裔美國人 COVID-19 推廣、資源和教育
(Asian American COVID-19 Outreach, Resources, and Education (CORE))

2020 年 1 月 20 日,美國疾病管制與預防中心 (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) 記錄了第一個 2019 新型冠狀病毒 (SARS-CoV-2) 病例。病毒傳播到全球之際,我們獲知是 SARS-CoV-2 引發了 2019 冠狀病毒病(又稱新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19))。 這次的疫情大大衝擊了我們生活中的每一個層面,從工作和生活方式到我們維持身體、心理、精神、心靈、社交和財務健全的方法,全都深受影響。史無前例的疫情引發了史無前例的需求,那就是優質、可靠的健康服務、健康教育,以及關乎地方衛生和社會支持服務的資訊。自 2020 年起,AAHI 開始在亞裔美國人社區擔任因應新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) 的領導者,負責提供重要的資訊、服務以及資源,盡力維繫社區組織和社區成員的關係。

亞裔美國人 COVID-19 推廣、資源和教育 (Asian American COVID-19 Outreach, Resources, & Education, AANCORE) 計畫集結 AAHI 為因應 COVID-19 所採行的措施,其中包括 AAHI COVID-19 紓困基金、資訊說明性質的民眾大會和社區活動、疫苗接種和檢疫宣導、教育研討會,以及綜合的推廣服務。因 COVID-19 而起的社區需求越來越多,AAHI 也不斷為有需要的個人和組織提供各式各樣的 COVID-19 服務。

新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) 紓困基金

亞裔美國人和太平洋島民新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) 紓困基金

蒙哥馬利郡 (Montgomery County) 是美國境內多元程度最高的其中一個郡,該郡有 50% 的人口是弱勢人口。其中,亞裔美國人和太平洋島民社區約佔全郡人口的 15.2%。由於亞裔美國人和太平洋島民 (AAPI) 社區越來越多元,且語言、文化和社會經濟地位跨度相當廣泛,以 AAPI 後裔為對象的教育和服務自然較為複雜,必須採用自成一格的方法因應社區需求。這類需求本就複雜,又因疫情所致而雪上加霜。

因應這類需求並與亞裔美國人社區組織的傑出成就相輔相成,AAHI 推出亞裔美國人和太平洋島民 COVID-19 紓困基金。這項基金經援斟酌 AAPI 居民文化和語言需求而提供適當教育、推廣服務及協助的社區組織,支持這類組織輔導居民接種疫苗、對抗反亞洲人仇恨犯罪和偏見、提供精神健康和社會服務給受害居民,也協助居民消除不同年齡層運用科技尋找照顧和服務項目時的數位落差。

AAHI 委託蒙哥馬利郡基層照護聯盟 (Primary Care Coalition of Montgomery County) 管理競爭性相當大的基金撥款流程,提供一百萬美元的經費給 11 家為亞裔美國人服務的社區組織,幫助這些組織:

  • 製作並廣發語言能通且合乎文化民情的推廣素材,針對社區提供 COVID-19、感染傳播方式以及疫苗接種的相關資訊(推廣和教育)
  • 以居民所慣用的語言提供 COVID-19 疫苗接種和疾病檢疫服務(疫苗接種和檢疫)
  • 提供語言能通的資訊和支持,輔助公部門和私部門提供重要的社會服務(社會服務)
  • 教育並支持 AAPI 青少年及家庭反抗反亞洲人暴力、仇恨和種族歧視,並且宣導全體亞裔美國人的保障和安全(反亞州人偏見和仇恨犯罪教育)
  • 減輕因尋求精神健康服務而遭污名化的可能,鼓勵人們尋求治療(精神健康服務)
欲深入瞭解補助金發放方式,請按一下這裡


組織名稱
補助金額 經費類別
推廣和教育 疫苗接種和檢疫 社會服務 精神健康 反亞洲人偏見和仇恨教育
大華盛頓韓裔社區服務中心 (Korean Community Service Center of Greater Washington) $125,016.62
亞太平洋島民家庭暴力資源計畫 (Asian Pacific Islander Domestic Violence Resource Project) $79,971.00
EveryMind $71,330.15
華裔美國人社區健康服務 (Chinese American Community Health Services) $37,800.00
美國多元團體 (American Diversity Group) $85,603.91
馬里蘭越南裔互助協會 (Maryland Vietnamese Mutual Association Incorporated) $123,726.84
中國文化與社區服務中心 (Chinese Culture & Community Service Center, Inc.) $156,797.08
越南裔美國人服務 (Vietnamese American Services) $94,989.40
穆斯林社區中心醫學診所 (Muslim Community Center Medical Clinic) $66,550
華盛頓特區都會區菲律賓護理師協會 (Philippine Nurses Association of Metropolitan DC) $75,550
IMAAM, Inc. $82,665.00
$1,000,000    

自 2021 年 11 月起,這項經費已為下列當事方提供服務

推廣和教育 疫苗接種和檢疫 社會服務 反亞洲人偏見和仇恨教育 精神健康
50,766 20,986 13,127 275 4,555

新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) 與精神健康

AAHI 的「資源」專頁提供許多精神健康資源。欲針對網站中強調的精神健康資訊索取相關簡報,請寫信至 AAHI@montgomerycountymd.gov. 聯絡 AAHI。欲索取 AAHI 精神健康資源 (Mental Health Resources) 多語印刷版,請填寫 這份表單。.

新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) 與精神健康系列影片

新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) 大大影響了我們的生理和心理健康。AAHI 早早體認 COVID-19 對人們心理和精神健康造成的不利衝擊,著手製作了多語種資源,輔導亞裔美國人社區保持社交距離。AAHI 最新的出版品包含兩個影片,主題分別是 「去污名化 (Reducing Stigma)」「正念練習 (Practicing Mindfulness)」。.

AAHI 會不斷加入更多內容,以因應不斷變化的社區需求。若有您希望探討的特定主題或層面,請寫信至 AAHI@montgomerycountymd.gov. 告訴我們。我們根據社區的高度需求製作新內容。

新冠病毒肺炎精神健康資源指南 (COVID-19 Mental Health Resource Guide)

為支持本郡居民並消除檢舉仇恨、偏見以及騷擾相關問題的落差,AAHI 推出了 「精神健康資源指南:亞裔美國人社區仇恨偏見與檢舉資源 (Mental Health Resource Guide)」

這份指南強調蒙哥馬利郡 (Montgomery County) 和馬里蘭州 (Maryland State) 仇恨犯罪與偏見檢舉資源、蒙哥馬利郡公立學校 (Montgomery County Public School, MCPS) 資源、各個特殊利益團體,以及致力於支持仇恨犯罪受害者的專案小組。此外,這份指南也列舉可以尋求的法律服務、精神健康服務、社區組織等等。

這份指南並未完整列出本郡目前提供的所有資源。若有您希望這份指南增列的任何資源,請寫信至 AAHI@montgomerycountymd.gov告訴我們。

應對反亞裔美國人的反彈情緒

整個新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) 疫情期間,不實資訊構成相當重大的挑戰。人們起初對於 COVID-19 所知不多,因此難以分辨事實和虛構資訊。遺憾的是,其中許多不實資訊含沙射影地誤指亞裔美國人是散播 COVID-19 病毒的元兇。亞裔美國人社群應對 COVID-19 所造成的嚴重衝擊之際,還得同時因應反亞裔美國人情緒和反彈力道逐漸升溫的情況。全美亞裔美國人成了仇恨犯罪、恐嚇、歧視和偏見的目標。為因應 COVID-19 對亞裔美國人社區造成如此非比尋常的衝擊,AAHI 研擬出幾項工具和資源。

反亞洲人反彈情緒與歧視教育資源

反亞洲人的反彈情緒和歧視思想對亞裔美國人的精神健康造成巨大的衝擊。克服這類事件本就不易,處理這類事件也相當困難。AAHI 提供各式各樣的資源,協助在當下處理這類事件,例如我們的 「停止仇恨:旁觀者介入的 5 D 守則」 資源,這項資源經授權改編自權益保障組織 (Right to Be) hollaback! 的「旁觀者介入」相關出版品,將內容整理成淺顯易懂的講義。

AAAHI 也提供旁觀者介入 (Bystander Intervention) 相關訓練課程,這是與 MCPD 和其他組織合作推出的課程。如欲在您所屬組織中舉辦旁觀者介入 (Bystander Intervention) 訓練,請寄電子郵件到 AAHI@montgomerycountymd.gov給我們。

若您或您所屬組織有意深入瞭解仇恨犯罪相關資訊,或者需要與這類主題相關的社區教育,請寫信至 AAHI@montgomerycountymd.gov 與我們聯絡。

民眾大會和社區教育研討會

為協助社區隨時掌握新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) 最新資訊,AAHI 舉辦並參與了多項社區教育研討會、民眾大會以及論壇。

亞裔美國人民眾大會

  • 社區夥伴辦公室 (Office of Community Partnerships, OCP) 和亞裔美國人健康促進協會 (Asian American Health Initiative, AAHI) 舉辦了一場探討蒙哥馬利郡 (Montgomery County) 新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) 疫苗接種相關資訊的虛擬民眾大會,時間在 2021 年 2 月 23 日星期二晚上 7:00 至晚上 8:30。
  • 活動中探討的主題在於:
    • COVID-19 疫苗接種真實資訊
    • COVID-19 疫苗接種登記流程
    • 全州和全郡優先順序的差別
    • 郡政府以外的其他疫苗接種據點

社區居民和本郡領導人物均踴躍出席這場虛擬活動。這場民眾大會的特色是請到了幾位座談人,其中包括郡長 (County Executive) Marc Elrich、郡議會副主席 (County Council Vice President) Gabe Albornoz、郡議員 (Councilmember) Sidney Katz、MCDHHS 主任 (Director) Raymond Crowel 博士、Mahesh Ochaney醫生、Mo-Ping Chow醫生,以及 AAHI 指導委員會副主席 (Steering Committee Vice Chair) Hina Mehta 博士。這場民眾大會是透過 Zoom 舉辦,同時在 AAHI Facebook 臉書專頁直播,出席人數超過 200 人。

社區教育研討會

作爲 AAHI 持續社區推廣工作的一部分,AAHI 提供各式各樣的研討會,探討許多不同的主題,新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) 就是其中之一。AAHI 能夠提供的簡報包括: 如何防範 COVID-19、COVID-19 及變異株、COVID-19 疫苗接種和檢疫、最新的蒙哥馬利郡 (Montgomery County) COVID-19 資料趨勢和計畫,以及如何取得本郡 COVID-19 資源等等。

如欲邀請 AAHI講述任何關於 COVID-19 的主題,請寄電子郵件到 AAHI@montgomerycountymd.gov給我們。

您也可以在 CDC 網站 蒙哥馬利郡新冠病毒肺炎資訊主頁 (Montgomery County COVID-19 Dashboard)查到最新的新聞報導。

新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) 檢疫

新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) Omicron 變異株在 2021 年 12 月和 2022 年 1 月各引發一波 COVID-19 病例激增事件,當時,AAHI 開始提供 COVID-19 快篩試劑給社區組織和企業,以利擴大蒙哥馬利郡 (Montgomery County) 的檢疫量能。截至目前為止,AAHI 已經發放了超過 4,000 組試劑。這些試劑的發放對象以在社區組織服務的亞裔美國人為主,這些組織會協助將試劑分送給弱勢和隔離的社區居民。

AAHI 進一步提供各種不同的新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) 服務,幫助社區組織發揮更大的影響力。AAHI 與許多社區組織合作推動 COVID-19 檢疫措施,力求讓蒙哥馬利郡 (Montgomery County) 居民都能順利接受這項服務。AAHI 不但協助印製推廣資料,也運用充當宣傳平台的華人及韓國雜貨店,以及 AAHI 的社群媒體,協助將資料分送給難以接觸到的社區。

AAHI 持續發揮資訊交流中心的作用,定期在我們的推廣活動中、透過我們的社群媒體網站,以及在進行社區簡報期間廣發 COVID-19 檢疫相關資訊。

AAHI 可以轉介本郡資源及支援物流作業,協助有意設立 COVID-19 檢疫門診的社區組織。如需本郡檢疫診所據點清單,請至:https://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/covid19/testing.html.

AAHI 的責任相當重大,負責將衛生暨公共服務部 (Department of Health and Human Services, (DHHS) 公佈的疫苗接種事前登記資訊轉達給整個社區。AAHI 團隊會向居民解說事前登記相關事宜,並且視需要協助居民完成作業流程,力求順利傳達相關消息。AAHI 也製作了多語傳單,用於發佈蒙哥馬利郡境內各種可行 COVID-19 疫苗接種選項的相關資訊。

如需報名參加疫苗接種和檢疫的相關協助,或是需要本郡提供的其他服務,請聯絡 AAHI: Sophia.Yoon@montgomerycountymd.gov, 240-773-1105。如需更多資源,請參閱新冠病毒肺炎資源指南 (COVID-19 Resource Guide):https://aahiinfo.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/04/COVID-19-Resource_V12_4_04_22.pdf。 

新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) 疫苗接種

AAHI 協助設立疫苗接種臨時據點,進一步擴大其新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) 緩解策略。自從疫苗問世後,AAHI 就開始協助在幾處亞裔美國人社區組織和信仰組織中設立疫苗接種臨時據點。中國文化和社區服務中心 (Chinese Culture and Community Service Center, (CCACC)、中華聖經教會 (Chinese Bible Church) 以及越南文藝俱樂部 (Vietnamese Literary and Artistic Club, VLAC)。 AAHI 會繼續提供專業知識,協助更多蒙哥馬利郡 (Montgomery County) 亞裔美國人居民完成 COVID-19 疫苗接種和檢疫。

如需關於設立疫苗接種門診的協助,請聯絡 AAHI: AAHI@montgomerycountymd.gov, 240-777-4517.

小型企業推廣服務

小型企業產業因為新冠病毒肺炎 (COVID-19) 疫情受創甚深。由於安全限制和社交距離規定,本郡許多小型企業的來客量驟減,所得也出現損失。本郡大部分小型企業的負責人和員工是亞裔美國人,他們的小型企業因為 COVID 連累而蒙受不利衝擊。在整個疫情期間,由於為企業提供了不同的財政紓困機會,因此 AAHI 加強了其小型企業推廣計畫,以確保企業了解這些不同的機會。在疫情初期階段,AAHI 以電話聯絡上超過 446 家小型企業,並以電子郵件聯絡上 457 家小型企業。AAHI 團隊力求這些小型企業、小型企業的客戶都清楚各種不同的 COVID-19 資源和門診,也瞭解本郡的各類補助計畫,例如志工所得稅補助 (Volunteer Income Tax Assistance , VITA)、 3R 計畫補助金 (3R Initiative Grant)、蒙哥馬利郡小型企業補助金計畫 (Montgomery County Small Business Grant Program)、公共資源教育計畫 (Public Resource Education Program , PREP)、租金紓困,以及許多其他計畫。AAHI 在全郡不斷進行小型企業推廣服務,讓這個弱勢族群能夠得到更多的資源。如欲替您的小型企業或研討會索取 COVID-19 講義,請聯絡 AAHI。

logo

  • Responding to the Health Needs of
    Asian Americans
  • Montgomery
    County
    Department of Health
    and Human Services

On January 20, 2020, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention documented the first case of the 2019 novel Coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) in the United States. As the virus spread across the globe, we learned that SARS-CoV-2 caused the disease Coronavirus disease 2019 or COVID-19.  This pandemic has drastically impacted every facet of our lives from the ways in which we worked and lived to the approach to our physical, emotional, mental, spiritual, social, and financial health. These unprecedented times led to an unprecedented need—a need for quality, reliable health services, health education, and information about local health and social support services. Since 2020, AAHI has served as a leader in the response to COVID-19 in the Asian American community by connecting community organizations and community members with critical information, services, and resources.

The Asian American COVID-19 Outreach, Resources, & Education (AANCORE) program is a collection of AAHI’s response efforts to COVID-19, which include the AAHI COVID-19 Relief Fund, informational town halls and community events, supporting vaccine and testing access, educational workshops, and a myriad of outreach efforts. As the community’s needs around COVID-19 evolve, AAHI continues to provide an array of COVID-19 services available to individuals and organizations on demand.

Current COVID-19 Services

COVID-19 Relief Fund for Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders

Montgomery County is one of the most diverse counties in the U.S, with over 50% of the County’s population being minorities. Among those, Asian American and Pacific Islander communities account for about 15.2% of the County population. Because of the growing diversity and wide range in language, culture, and socioeconomic status within the Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) communities, providing education and services to people of AAPI descent is more complex and requires custom approaches to reach the at-need communities. The complexity of these needs is exacerbated by the pandemic.

In response to these needs and to supplement the extraordinary work of Asian American community organizations, AAHI unveiled the COVID-19 Relief Fund for Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders. The fund provides financial support to community organizations providing culturally and linguistically appropriate education, outreach, and assistance to AAPI residents to access vaccines, combat Anti-Asian hate crimes and bias, provide mental health and social services to those who have suffered and help residents bridge the digital divide when using technology to navigate care and services across the age span.

Through a competitive grants process managed by the Primary Care Coalition of Montgomery County, AAHI provided one million dollars of funding to 11 Asian American serving community organizations to:

  • Develop and disseminate linguistically accessible and culturally appropriate outreach materials to educate the community about COVID-19, the spread of infection, and vaccination (Outreach & Education)
  • Provide access to COVID-19 vaccination and disease testing services in the language of preference (Vaccination & Testing)
  • Provide linguistically accessible information and support for critical social services offered by the public and private sectors (Social Services)
  • Educate and empower AAPI youth and families to stand against anti-Asian violence, hate, and racism and promote the protection and safety of all Asian Americans (Anti-Asian Bias & Hate crime education)
  • Reduce stigma around seeking mental health services and encourage people to seek treatment (Mental Health Services)
  • To learn more about the grants award, please click here.

    Organization Name Award Amount Funding Categories
    Outreach and Education Vaccination & Testing Social Services Mental Health Anti-Asian Bias & Hate Education
    Korean Community Service Center of Greater Washington $125,016.62
    Asian Pacific Islander Domestic Violence Resource Project $79,971.00
    EveryMind $71,330.15
    Chinese American Community Health Services $37,800.00
    American Diversity Group $85,603.91
    Maryland Vietnamese Mutual Association Incorporated $123,726.84
    Chinese Culture & Community Service Center, Inc. $156,797.08
    Vietnamese American Services $94,989.40
    MCC Medical Clinic $66,550
    Philippine Nurses Association of Metropolitan DC $75,550
    IMAAM, Inc. $82,665.00
    $1,000,000    

     

    Since November 2021, this grant has provided services to the following clients:

    Outreach & Education Vaccination & Testing Social Services Anti-Asian Bias & Hate Crime Education Mental health services
    50,766 20,986 13,127 275 4,555

AAHI has developed the COVID-19 Resource Guide to support County residents to identify resources that address various needs caused by the COVID-19 crisis. Some of the information found in the COVID-19 Resource Guide include healthcare coverage, food access, housing assistance, financial assistance, mental health support, senior and caregiver support as well as language lines to help increase access. While this guide is updated regularly, if you are looking for a service not listed here or unable to connect with a service listed here, please contact us at AAHI@montgomerycountymd.gov.

COVID-19 & Mental Health Video Series

COVID-19 has greatly affected both our physical and mental health. Early on, AAHI recognized the negative impact of COVID-19 on our emotional and mental health and set out to develop multilingual resources to support Asian American communities as they practiced social distancing. AAHI’s most recent publications include two videos addressing the topics “Reducing Stigma” and “Practicing Mindfulness”.

AAHI continuously adds more content to address the changing needs of the community. If you would like a certain topic or aspect covered, please let us know at AAHI@montgomerycountymd.gov. New content is developed based on high community needs.

AAHI offers many mental health resources available in our Resource Library. To request a presentation related to mental health information highlighted in our website, please contact AAHI at AAHI@montgomerycountymd.gov. To request hardcopies of multilingual AAHI Mental Health Resources, please fill out  this form.

AAHI offers many mental health resources available in our Resource Library. To request a presentation related to mental health information highlighted in our website, please contact AAHI at AAHI@montgomerycountymd.gov. To request hardcopies of multilingual AAHI Mental Health Resources, please fill out  this form.

Mental Health Provider Database

Check out our Mental Health Provider Database with providers who are proficient in:

Responding to Anti-Asian American Backlash

Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, misinformation has been a major challenge. Since little was initially known about COVID-19, it was difficult to discern what was fact and fiction. Unfortunately, some of this misinformation incorrectly and falsely insinuated that Asian Americans were to blame for the spread of the COVID-19 virus. While responding to the devastating impact of COVID-19, the Asian American community was simultaneously responding to an increase in anti-Asian American sentiment and backlash. Asian Americans across the country became the target of hate crimes, intimidation, discrimination, and bias. To respond to this unique impact of COVID-19 on the Asian American community, AAHI has developed several tools and resources.

If you or your organization would like more information about hate crimes or would like community education on this topic, please contact us at AAHI@montgomerycountymd.gov.

To report Hate and Bias Incidents, please call:

  • Montgomery County Police Department (MCPD): Emergency: 911 Non-emergency: 301-279-8000
  • Montgomery County Office of Human Rights: 240-777-8450
  • Maryland State Attorney General Hotline to Report Hate Crimes: 1-866-481-8361

COVID-19 Mental Health Resource Guide

  • https://aahiinfo.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/Mental-Health-Resource_Social-Injustice.Bullying_V6.FINAL_.pdf
  • To support county residents and bridge the resource gap related to hate, bias, and harassment reporting, AAHI launched the “Mental Health Resource Guide: Asian American Community Hate-Bias & Reporting Resources”.
  • This guide highlights Montgomery County and Maryland State hate crime and bias reporting resources, Montgomery County Public School (MCPS) resources, various special interest groups, and task forces committed to supporting victims of hate crimes. Additionally, this guide also includes available legal services, mental health services, community organizations, and more.
  • This guide is not an exhaustive list of all the resources available in the county. If there are any resource that you would like to be added to this guide, please let us know at AAHI@montgomerycountymd.gov.

Anti-Asian Backlash & Discrimination Educational Resources

The anti-Asian backlash and discrimination has a tremendous impact on the mental health Asian Americans. Coping with such incidents has been challenging but so has been handling such incidents. AAHI offers a variety of resources to handle such incidents in the moment such as our “Stop Hate: The 5 Ds of Bystander Intervention” resource reproduced with permission from hollaback! on bystander intervention in an easy-to-understand handout.

AAHI also offers training sessions on Bystander Intervention through partnerships with MCPD and other organizations. If you would like to host a Bystander Intervention training at your organizations, please email us at AAHI@montgomerycountymd.gov.

Townhalls & Community Education Workshops

To keep the community informed about the latest updates around COVID-19, AAHI has hosted and participated in several community education workshops, townhalls, and forums.

Asian American Townhall

  • The Office of Community Partnerships (OCP) and Asian American Health Initiative (AAHI) hosted a virtual townhall on the COVID-19 vaccine in Montgomery County on Tuesday, February 23, 2021, from 7:00pm to 8:30pm.
  • The main topics covered during this event were:
    • Facts about the COVID-19 vaccine
    • Registration process for COVID-19 vaccine
    • Difference between State and County priority
    • Alternative locations to get the vaccine besides the County Government

The virtual event was well attended by community members and county leadership. The townhall featured several panelists including County Executive Marc Elrich, County Council Vice President Gabe Albornoz, Councilmember Sidney Katz, MCDHHS Director Dr. Raymond Crowel, Dr. Mahesh Ochaney, Dr. Mo-Ping Chow, and AAHI Steering Committee Vice Chair Dr. Hina Mehta. The townhall was conducted via Zoom and streamed live on the AAHI Facebook page with over 200 attendees.

Community Education Workshops

As a part of AAHI’s ongoing community outreach efforts, AAHI offers a variety of workshops on different topics, including COVID-19 . Some of the presentations AAHI can provide include:  how to protect yourself from COVID-19, COVID-19 and its variants, COVID-19 vaccinations and testing, the latest Montgomery County COVID-19 data trends and programs, how to access County COVID-19 resources, and many more.

If you would like to invite AAHI to present on any topic related to COVID-19, please email us at AAHI@montgomerycountymd.gov.

You can also find up-to-date news on COVID-19 at the CDC website and the Montgomery County COVID-19 Dashboard.

COVID TESTING

Rapid Test Kit Distribution

When the Omicron variant of COVID-19 caused a surge in COVID-19 cases in December 2021 and January 2022, AAHI began to provide COVID-19 rapid test kits to community organizations and businesses to expand Montgomery County’s testing capability. To date, over 4,000 test kits have been distributed through AAHI. These test kits were mainly provided to Asian American serving community organizations who helped distribute them to vulnerable and isolated community members.

To request tests for your organization, please fill out this form:

Hosting a Test Site

  • AAHI amplified the reach of community organizations as they stepped up efforts by offering various COVID-19 services. AAHI worked with various community entities to promote their COVID-19 testing efforts to ensure Montgomery County residents can access this service. AAHI not only assisted with printing promotional materials, but also facilitated the distribution to hard-to-reach communities by utilizing Chinese and Korean grocery stores as advertising platforms as well as AAHI’s social media.
  • AAHI continues to serve as an information hub and regularly disseminates information about COVID-19 testing at our outreach events, through our social media sites, and during community presentations.
  • AAHI can assist community organizations who are interested in setting up a COVID-19 testing clinic by connecting you with county resources and supporting with logistics. Please contact AAHI for assistance. For a list of County testing clinic sites, go to: https://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/covid19/testing.html.

Service Access – help you sign up for vaccination or testing

  • AAHI was critical in the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) messaging to the community on vaccine preregistration. The AAHI team ensured the success of these messages by navigating residents to preregistration and helping residents as needed to complete the process. AAHI also generated multilingual flyers to deliver information about the various COVID-19 vaccine options available within Montgomery County.
  • Please contact AAHI for assistance to sign up for vaccination and testing, as well as for other County-provided services. Please see the COVID-19 Resource Guide for additional resources: https://aahiinfo.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/04/COVID-19-Resource_V12_4_04_22.pdf.

COVID-19 VACCINATION

AAHI expanded its COVID-19 mitigation strategy by assisting with popup vaccination sites. Since vaccines became available, AAHI facilitated the hosting of popup vaccine sites at several Asian American community- and faith-based organizations. Chinese Culture and Community Service Center (CCACC), Chinese Bible Church, and Vietnamese Literary and Artistic Club (VLAC).  AAHI continues to provide expertise in expanding access to the COVID-19 vaccine and testing for Montgomery County Asian American residents.

For assistance in setting up vaccination clinics, please contact AAHI.

SMALL BUSINESS OUTREACH

The small business sector was significantly impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic. Due to safety restrictions and social distancing requirements, many of the county’s small businesses experienced a drop in customers and loss in income. Asian Americans make up a large portion of the county’s small business owners and employees and were among the small businesses negatively impacted due to COVID. Throughout the pandemic, as different financial relief opportunities were made available for businesses, AAHI ramped up its small business outreach program to ensure that businesses were aware of these different opportunities. —Early on in the pandemic, AAHI reached out to over 446 small businesses by phone and 457 small businesses by email. The AAHI team ensured these small businesses, and their clients, were aware of the various COVID-19 resources and clinics, as well as county assistance programs such as Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA), 3R Initiative Grant, Montgomery County Small Business Grant Program, Public Resource Education Program (PREP), rent relief, and many other programs.

AAHI continues to conduct small business outreach throughout the County to bring resources to this underserved population. To request handouts or COVID-19 for your small business or workshops, please reach out to AAHI.